2004 Metro beat Avon Sports

BBS Primary Club National Knockout Cup Final 2004
Author Unknown

Avon Sports v Metro
Saturday 21st August 2004

Avon Sports recorded their first and only success in the competition 20 years ago, when beating local opposition Worcester Old Boys in the final. A year later, they met their 2004 opposition, losing a low scoring game by 4 wickets.

This year’s final was reached by beating fellow 2nd Division rivals Sussex Sharks at Bristol by 8 wickets, Mike Ferguson dominating the innings with a superb unbeaten 83 Not out.

The Metro Club started as strong favourites to win the Trophy, having already won it on eleven previous occasions. However, they had to beat the reigning Premier League champions Birmingham in their semi final, having already lost both previous league encounters. Thanks to a gutsy unbeaten 52 by Simon Butler, Metro totaled 177 which eventually proved sufficient to take them to the final via a superb fielding exhibition

The final ran true to expectations, Metro winning by 9 wickets. Captain Adam Benjamin won the toss and inserted the opposition, a sensible decision as, in previous finals, he had experienced playing at the “Home of Cricket” and seen how players appearing there for the first time were affected by big match nerves. This proved correct, as the Avon side slumped to 60 all out in 12.1 overs, only 3 batsmen reaching double figures.

The most successful bowlers were England players, Benjamin and Heindrich Swanepoel, supported by a competent all round performance from their colleagues in the field. Avon did managed to have Benjamin caught for a duck, but their joy was short lived as Rory Field and Dave Townley took Metro to their twelfth BBS Cup victory.

Avon Sports: 60 All out (12.1 overs), A Benjamin 3-4, H Swanepoel 3-10
Metro: 61/1 (9.4 overs), R field 29 Not out, D Townley 18 Not out