2007 Metro beat South Wales Dragons

BBS Primary Club National Knockout Cup Final 2007
By Dave Gavrilovic (Reporting for BBC Sport)

London Metro have beaten South Wales Dragons to claim the BBS Primary Club National Knockout Cup at Lords.
On a hot and sunny day Dragons were put in to bat and early fireworks from Toby Warren (41) and Damion Corrigan (47) got them off to a flying start. Three quick wickets left the Welshmen precariously poised on 113/5 but a brilliant partnership from Howard Greenhill (59 not out) and totally blind batsman Keryn Seal (38) rescued the innings and the Dragons finished there 30 overs on 217/7 which was the first total of over 200 in the 29 year history of the final.

Metro lost an early wicket in reply but their totally blind captain Dave Townley took the attack to the welsh bowlers with a rapid 34. Former England captain Adam Benjamin added 13 to leave opening batsman Matt Dean not out joined by Andy Mckeating with the score on 100/3. The pair then set aboutsmashing records, Dean reached the highest ever cup final score (92) and was only dismissed after a partnership of 106, another Cup final record. Mckeating (32 not out) was joined by Amit Amin and the pair saw the London side to a 6 wicket win with 11 balls to spare.

Metro Captain Dave Townley told BBC Sport how it felt to win as captain at Lords,
“It was Great to win in the highest scoring Cup final of all time. It was one of the best games of cricket I’ve ever played in, very exciting, very competitive and it was a massive honour for me personally to lift the Cup at Lords.”

British Blind Sport PRIMARY CLUB National Knockout CUP FINAL 2007
Metro v South Wales Dragons
at The Nursery Ground, Lords
Saturday 11th August 2007
Umpires: Dennis Chapman and John McClean
Scorers: Steve Field and Martin Dean

Metro won the toss and asked Dragons to bat.
South Wales Dragons Innings
Toby Warren Caught D Powers Bowled R Kershaw 41
Karl Phillips Bowled A Benjamin 7
Andy Law Caught R Field Bowled A Benjamin 4
Damion Corrigan Bowled D Townley 47
Dave Wood Caught A Mckeating Bowled A Amin 0
Keryn Seal Run Out 38
Howard Greenhill not out 59
Kurt Butler Bowled R Field 0
Neil Prior not out 2
Did not bat: Heindrich Swanepoel & Will Norman
Extras:( 1B, 2LB, 11W, 5NB) 19
TOTAL: 30 overs, for 7 wickets, 217
Fall of Wickets: 1-25 (Phillips), 2-58 (Warren), 3-87 (Law), 4-113 (Corrigan), 5-113 (Wood), 6-202 (Seal), 7-203 (Butler).

R Field 6-0-34-1
A Benjamin 6-0-50-2
D Townley 6-1-72-1
A Amin 3-0-20-1
R Kershaw 4-1-5-1
G Dean 5-0-33-0

Metro Innings
Rory Field Caught K Seal Bowled D Corrigan 6
Matt Dean Caught T Warren Bowled K Seal 92
David Townley Bowled H Greenhill 34
Adam Benjamin Caught A Law Bowled W Norman 13
Andy Mckeating not out 32
Amit Amin not out 0
Did not bat: Dave Powers, Rob Kershaw, Roy Smith, Gavin Dean, Mike Brace
Extras:( 4B, 24W, 13NB) 41
Total: 28.2 overs, for 4 wickets, 218
Metro won by 6 wickets

Fall of Wickets: 1-22 (Field), 2-81 (Townley), 3-100 (Benjamin), 4-206 (M Dean).
H Swanepoel 6-1-16-0
D Corrigan 6-0-30-1
K Seal 3.2-0-41-1
A Law 4-0-52-0
H Greenhill 6-0-42-1
W Norman 3-0-33-1