Wavertree Merseyside CC

Club Name: Wavertree Merseyside CC
Location: Sandown Lane, Wavertree, Liverpool L15 4HU
Home Ground: Wavertree Cricket Club
Year Founded: VI section in 2015, Main cricket club in 1854
Shirt Colour: Black with yellow trimmings
Chairman: Phill O’Brien
VI Captain: Eamon Preston
VI Vice-Captain: TBC
Team Manager:
Website: www.wavertree.play-cricket.com/
Twitter: @WavertreeCC

Best Competition Finishes

BCEW Regional League: Runners Up in N/W League (2018)
BCEW David Townley Memorial Twenty20 Cup: Yet to enter
BBS Primary Club Heindrich Swanepoel Memorial Cup: Yet to enter

Other Trophies

2021 BCEW Spirit Of Cricket Award Winners


Wavertree Cricket club was founded in 1854. The club have occupied the current Sandown lane home continuously since then. Wavertree are club mark accredited and have been awarded the Liverpool City Council club of the year back in 2007. Membership of the club is diverse. With adult, junior women and girls and now a VI section within the club.

Cricket played by blind and visually impaired people was 1st regularly seen at the club in 2015 when we were invited to put some taster sessions on. From this the VI section was constituted to the club and has been represented on the committee ever since. Our membership has grown from 3 to currently 18 members. Our team photo illustrates how inclusive we are. All are welcome to our Friday night practise sessions, weather in or out door. We also continue to host regular VI cricket taster days.

Up until our entry in to the BCEW BJMT Development Festival at Leicester in 2017 we had only played friendly games, against a mixture of other VI sides or local councillors and other members of the club. We are now though really excited about the 2018 season and our 1st venture in the BCEW Regional League.

Club Contact

Club Captain: Eamon Preston
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 07725 109174